

## Illinois Weslevan University Digital Commons @ IWU

Dougan Award Winners

**IWU AAUP** 

4-18-2016

## Wes Chapman, 2016 Dougan Award Presentation

Brian Brennan Chapter President, Illinois Wesleyan University

IWU Chapter of the AAUP, Illinois Wesleyan University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/iwuaaup win



Part of the Education Commons, and the English Language and Literature Commons

## **Recommended Citation**

Brennan, Brian and IWU Chapter of the AAUP, Illinois Wesleyan University, "Wes Chapman, 2016 Dougan Award Presentation" (2016). Dougan Award Winners. 6. https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/iwuaaup win/6

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/ or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at The Ames Library at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu. ©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

## 2016 Dougan Award Announcement

Each year, the IWU AAUP Chapter selects an active, vocal member of the faculty for the "James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance." The award honors the memory of the late Professor of Psychology James Dougan and his staunch commitment to defending the faculty's right to participate in shaping the direction of the university.

This year's recipient has compiled a list of contributions to faculty governance, too long to list here in full. However, they include what one of his nominators describes as "some of the university's most difficult and demanding" service obligations. Highlights include five years as a department chair, a year as chair of CUPP, and service on the most recent presidential search committee.

However, as one nominating letter put the point,

More important ... than the fact that [this faculty member] has served, and even that he has served at high levels, is ... [his] manner of service, which is exemplary of thoughtful, committed engagement with shared governance. While always bringing relevant ideas and perspectives to conversations, [he] simply is interested in a fair conversation and smart, productive outcomes. He won't back down from an argument, but nor will he push a viewpoint beyond what he deems appropriate. His judicious participation in faculty meetings certainly reveals this. ... [H]e always seems to work diligently and intelligently, somehow, without imposing....

Another nominating letter noted that "it is the texture of [his] presence in faculty leadership that most distinguishes his work."

And so, for his consistent and meritorious commitment to faculty governance, it is with pleasure and gratitude that the IWU chapter of the AAUP presents the sixth annual James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance to Professor Wes Chapman.