

Illinois Weslevan University Digital Commons @ IWU

Dougan Award Winners

IWU AAUP

4-23-2018

April Schultz, 2018 Dougan Award Presentation

Wes Chapman Chapter Vice President, Illinois Wesleyan University

IWU Chapter of the AAUP, Illinois Wesleyan University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/iwuaaup win



Part of the Education Commons, and the History Commons

Recommended Citation

Chapman, Wes and IWU Chapter of the AAUP, Illinois Wesleyan University, "April Schultz, 2018 Dougan Award Presentation" (2018). Dougan Award Winners. 8. https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/iwuaaup win/8

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/ or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

2018 Dougan Award Presentation

The James D. Dougan Award was founded in 2011 to "recognize meritorious service in the cause of faculty governance in line with Professor Dougan's staunch commitment to defending the faculty's right to participate in shaping the direction of the university." According to the award criteria, the honor may be given either to a person whose service demonstrates "extraordinary commitment to the cause—service that goes beyond the call of the position held" or to one who has "provided valuable service over an extended period of time to the cause of faculty governance." I take this to mean that one can earn the award either for valuable service over the course of many years or for a single extraordinary effort, the faculty governance equivalent of standing all alone in front of a tank in Tianamnen Square. (You can tell that's a metaphor because there's no room in the budget for tanks.)

This year's winner has done both kinds of service. He or she has certainly given valuable service over many years, serving as department chair twice and director of two different programs; as a member and several times as chair of numerous elected, appointive and ad hoc committees; as an advisor to student organizations; as a member of numerous post-tenure review committees, and of search committees for faculty and for a Provost (I'm not saying which one); as co-organizer of a course cluster; as secretary and president of the IWU chapter of a national honor society (again, I'm not saying which one); and in many other roles too numerous even to categorize, much less to mention.

But it is not the amount of service this year's winner has done that makes him or her deserving of this award, it is the quality of that service. The nomination letter for this person says that he or she "has made an extremely significant contribution to faculty governance at IWU over the years and continues to do so, and...has made that contribution with an attitude that is especially conducive to getting others to work well, too." This has certainly been my experience. Part of it has to do with his or her attitude, positive without ignoring negatives, but even more it has to do with his or her willingness to

listen and to talk, sometimes changing my mind, sometimes changing his or hers. That's the kind of messy give and take that makes faculty governance work. It's hard.

That brings us to the "service that goes beyond the call of the position held." In this case, it's not one position, and it didn't happen all at one time. But it was all part of a single sustained effort, involving many people, one that continues to this day. In that effort, this year's award winner has taken the roles of both leader and team member, and has gone way beyond the call of duty in both roles. The nomination letter for her describes her work as a leader in this way: she "has positioned herself in that particular leadership role having to take the slings and arrows, along with the considerable grumbling, of many of us, and she has always responded with a refreshingly positive take on it all. She brings out the best in us, as she carefully, cheerfully moves us forward and as she takes in all of the suggestions and perspectives we bring to bear on this most difficult task."

This year's award winner is not, in my view, the kind of person who stands alone in front of a tank, not because she lacks the courage to do so, but because she knows that standing alone is not what faculty governance is about. Faculty governance is about making things happen in groups, from subcommittees to departments to elected committees to all of us in this room — organizing, inspiring, putting a shoulder to the wheel. Not only does that require hard work, sometimes it requires more courage than standing in front of a tank. Where this person has had to stand, amongst us, the faculty, she hasn't had to face one tank, or a line of tanks all going in one direction, but a whole bunch of tanks going every which way and firing off shots in all directions. We sometimes forget our own power. But she has not. Her manner of engagement with faculty governance, always listening, always staying positive, always encouraging us to come up with our own ideas if we don't like what's on the floor, always committed to the messy art of compromise that faculty governance requires, serves to remind us always – we own this. It is our privilege and our duty to make this what we want it to be. That's what faculty governance is all about. And we can make it work. Specifically, of course, I'm talking about

general education, but more generally I'm talking about all of faculty governance, the cause of which this person has greatly furthered over the course of her career. For her outstanding service, the IWU chapter of the AAUP presents the eighth annual James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance to Professor April Schultz.