

# Illinois Weslevan University Digital Commons @ IWU

President's Convocation

Convocations

Fall 9-11-1996

## President's Convocation (1996 Program and video)

Illinois Wesleyan University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/presidents docs



Part of the Higher Education Commons

### **Recommended Citation**

Wesleyan University, Illinois, "President's Convocation (1996 Program and video)" (1996). President's Convocation. 25.

https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/presidents docs/25

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/ or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

## Illinois Wesleyan University

# PRESIDENT'S CONVOCATION



Westbrook Auditorium Presser Hall September 11, 1996 11:00 a.m.

# PROGRAM

### President Minor Myers. jr, Presiding

Organ Prelude	David Gehrenbeck, Organist Professor of Music Emeritus Paul Manz (b. 1919)
*Invocation	Dennis E. Groh <i>University Chaplain</i>
Welcome	President Minor Myers, jr
Greetings from the Student Senate President	Sarah B. Shive '97 President, Student Senate
Recognition of Presidential Scholars and The Anderson Physics Scholar	Roger H. Schnaitter Associate Provost
Special Music Banjo and Fiddle	(1901-1980)
Sharon Chung '2000, vio Eva Ferguson '2000, pia	lin no
Awarding of Honorary Degree	President Minor Myers, jr. Provost Janet M. McNew
Remarks	Anita DeFrantz
Remarks*Alma Wesleyana	NATIONAL HYMN George William Warren (1828-1902)
	NATIONAL HYMN George William Warren (1828-1902)
*Alma Wesleyana  From hearts aflame, our love we pledge to thee Where'er we wander, over land or sea; Through time unending, loyal we will be— True to our Alma Mater, Wesleyan.  When college days are fully past and gone, While life endures, from twilight gleam til daw Grandly thy soul shall with us linger on— Star-crowned, our Alma Mater, Wesleyan.	NATIONAL HYMN George William Warren (1828-1902) P,
*Alma Wesleyana  From hearts aflame, our love we pledge to thee Where'er we wander, over land or sea; Through time unending, loyal we will be— True to our Alma Mater, Wesleyan.  When college days are fully past and gone, While life endures, from twilight gleam til daw Grandly thy soul shall with us linger on— Star-crowned, our Alma Mater, Wesleyan.	NATIONAL HYMN George William Warren (1828-1902)
*Alma Wesleyana  From hearts aflame, our love we pledge to thee Where'er we wander, over land or sea; Through time unending, loyal we will be— True to our Alma Mater, Wesleyan.  When college days are fully past and gone, While life endures, from twilight gleam til daw Grandly thy soul shall with us linger on— Star-crowned, our Alma Mater, Wesleyan.	NATIONAL HYMN George William Warren (1828-1902) e,

<sup>\*</sup>Audience will please stand



#### Anita DeFrantz

Executive Board Member, International Olympic Committee President and Director, Amateur Athletic Foundation of Los Angeles

"Sports belong to all of us—able-bodied, disabled, men, women, young, and old." That's the view of Anita DeFrantz, reported by her hometown newspaper, *The Indianapolis Star/News*.

DeFrantz, a bronze medalist in rowing at the 1976 Montreal Olympics, has been called one of the 100 most powerful people in sports by *The Sporting News. The Australian Magazine* has ranked her among the 100 most powerful women worldwide.

As a vice president for the Los Angeles Olympic Organizing Committee, she organized and managed the Olympic Village at the University of Southern California for the 1984 games.

DeFrantz was elected to the 104-member International Olympic Committee (IOC) in 1986; her term of office runs to 2032. She was elected to the IOC's Executive Board in 1992 and re-elected to a full four-year term in 1993. DeFrantz chairs the IOC's Women and Sport Working Group and serves on several other IOC commissions.

A *Wall Street Journal* profile of her reported: "... DeFrantz has become one of the Olympic movement's more influential members ... she is the only woman on the 11-member IOC Executive Board, the true seat of Olympic power, and the first black woman ever elected to it."

Born in Philadelphia, DeFrantz grew up in Indianapolis. At age 18, she was introduced to rowing at Connecticut College, where she graduated with honors in 1974. While studying law at the University of Pennsylvania, she continued training for rowing competitions. From 1975-80, DeFrantz competed on every national rowing team and served in several posts, including being a director of the U.S. Rowing Association.

In addition to her Olympic bronze medal in rowing, DeFrantz won a silver medal at the 1978 World Championships, was a five-time World Championships finalist, and won six National Championships.

She was an outspoken critic of President Jimmy Carter's boycott of the 1980 Olympics, following the Soviet Union's invasion of Afghanistan, earning the IOC's Bronze Medal of the Olympic Order for her leadership in opposing the boycott.

DeFrantz is president of the Amateur Athletic Foundation of Los Angeles, a charity founded with about \$90 million of surplus funds from the Los Angeles Olympics. As of January, 1996, the group had awarded grants totaling \$31.2 million to support youth sports programs in Southern California.

She is a steward of the Women's Sports Foundation and serves on the Board of Directors for: the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games, Salt Lake City Olympic Organizing Committee, Martin Luther King Legacy Association, and many other groups.

Among her awards and honors are the NAACP's Jackie Robinson Sports Achievement Award, IOC's Woman of the Year Award, World Scholar-Athlete Games Humanitarian Award from the Institute for International Sport, and the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Funds' Black Woman of Achievement Award.