

Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

5-26-2011

University Board of Trustees Elects New Members

University Communications, Illinois Wesleyan University Illinois Wesleyan University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

Recommended Citation

University Communications, Illinois Wesleyan University, "University Board of Trustees Elects New Members" (2011). *News and Events*. 1718. https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/1718

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

University Board of Trustees Elects New Members

May 26, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, III. - The Illinois Wesleyan University Board of Trustees elected Trustees and a slate of officers at the May 24 annual meeting.

John Esch has been elected to the Board for the term expiring 2014. Esch, a 1979 Illinois Wesleyan graduate, has been a general and vascular surgeon in Bloomington-Normal since 1987. He has served as chief of staff and chief of surgery at OSF St. Joseph Medical Center and chief of surgery at Advocate BroMenn. He has also served as an Alumni Association Trustee from 2008-2011. Esch received his bachelor's degree in biology from IWU and his doctor of medicine degree from South Illinois University School of Medicine in 1982.



John Esch

Elected to the Board for the term expiring in 2013 is Richard M. King, II. King, a 1967 Illinois Wesleyan graduate, is the president and CEO of Kittleman and Associates, LLC, an executive search firm for notfor-profits, and is a founding member of the National Network of Nonprofit Search Consultants. He received his bachelor's degree in psychology and sociology from IWU in 1967, and later earned master's degrees in social work from Florida State University and in business administration from Dominican University, where he served as a trustee for 11 years. He serves on the Board of Directors of the First Nonprofit Insurance Companies and the Oak Park-River Forest Community Foundation.



Richard M. King

Barbara J. Nathan has been elected as an Alumni Association Trustee. A 1980 Illinois Wesleyan graduate, Nathan has been the executive director of the Community Cancer Center and Foundation in Normal since 1996. She was named the 2009 Healthcare Executive of the Year by the American Academy of Medical Administrators. Nathan received her bachelor's degree in nursing from IWU in 1980 and has served as president of the American College of Oncology Administrators Board, Community Cancer Center Board and the Leadership Illinois Advisory Board. She was named a YWCA Woman of Distinction in 1995.



Barbara J. Nathan

Timothy J. Szerlong has been elected to the Board for the term expiring in 2014. Szerlong, a 1974 Illinois Wesleyan graduate, is president of Worldwide Field of Operations for the CNA Financial Corporation. He also served as senior vice president and an Eastern U.S. Field Operations Officer for The Chubb Corporation for 35 years. Szerlong received his bachelor's degree in business administration from IWU and completed the advanced management program of the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania. He has served on the board of directors with Inroads/Chicago Inc., the Sigma Chi Risk Management Foundation, and currently serves on the Midwest Board of Operation



Timothy J. Szerlong

Hope.

Also approved at the meeting:

Granted emeritus trustee status is Gilbert Dorsey, who retired from his post as the first vice chair of the Board. Dorsey, who graduated from Illinois Wesleyan in 1962 with a degree in business, is the former president of The Eureka Company at Electrolux Home Products.

Named as honorary trustees are Howard and Sharon (Linton) Fricke and Kent W. Wallace and Sue Wallace. Howard Fricke, a 1960 IWU graduate with a bachelor's degree in insurance, is the retired President/CEO and Chairman of Security Benefit

Group, which he joined in 1988. He also had an active public service career as Secretary of the Kansas Department of Administration and the Secretary of Commerce in both Kansas and Illinois. Sharon Fricke, a retired teacher, received a bachelor's degree in English from IWU in 1960. The couple has served on IWU's Board of Visitors, and are active in coordinating alumni events. Howard Fricke was the 1993 recipient of IWU's Distinguished Alumnus Award and spoke at the 2009 Commencement ceremony, where he received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree.

Kent Wallace, a 1962 IWU graduate, is the retired founding president and CEO of Wallace Electronics, a manufacturer of electronic components in the Switchgear and Switchboard Apparatus industry in Dallas, Texas. The Wallaces have remained connected to IWU over the years, serving on the Greater Dallas/Ft.Worth Campaign Leadership Committee and hosting a number of Alumni Connections in Dallas. An insurance major at IWU, Kent received the Loyalty Award in 2004.

Members re-elected and officers named

Willie Brown and Thomas L. Brown, class of 1979, have both been elected vice chairs of the Board. Willie Brown, who has served on the Board since 2002 recently retired from State Farm Insurance Companies in Bloomington. Thomas L. Brown, a member of the Board since 2002, is a partner at Pricewaterhouse Coopers, LLC, in Chicago.

Re-elected as officers of the Board for 2011-2012 are: George A. Vinyard, class of 1971, chair; Herbert A. Getz, class of 1977, vice chair; Jean M. Baird, class of 1980, secretary; and Robert E. Field, class of 1967, treasurer.

Re-elected as trustees for the term expiring in 2014 are: Richard S. Ames, Phyllis Barker, class of 1973; Robert E. Field, class of 1967; Thomas C. McKinney, Jr., class of 1976; Ronald L. Ruecker, class of 1966; James A. Shirk; Dale H. Spiess, class of 1966; and Carlina Tapia-Ruano, class of 1977.

For more information on the Board elections, contact the Office of University Communications at (309) 556-3181.