

Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

4-5-2011

Professor Young Receives Inaugural Dougan Award

Ann Aubry *Illinois Wesleyan University*

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

Recommended Citation

Aubry, Ann, "Professor Young Receives Inaugural Dougan Award" (2011). *News and Events*. 1726

https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/1726

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

© Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

Professor Young Receives Inaugural Dougan Award

April 5, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, III. – Professor of History Michael Young has been named the first recipient of the James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance, named in honor of the late professor of psychology, who died Oct. 10, 2010.

The Award was created by the Illinois Wesleyan chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP), to recognize valuable service by a faculty member in keeping with Dougan's commitment to the faculty's right to a voice in shaping the direction of the University.

Young, who was selected by a committee of AAUP chapter members, was announced as the Dougan Award recipient at the April 4 faculty meeting by Joerg Tiede, associate professor of computer science and president of the IWU AAUP Chapter.



Michael Young

The award seeks to recognize an individual who demonstrates extraordinary service, such as in advocating for faculty interests, for academic freedom, or in finding cooperative solutions to campus challenges.



James D. Dougan

Young has exemplified these traits throughout his 40 years at Illinois Wesleyan, Tiede said. At his first faculty meeting after joining the faculty in 1970, Young weighed in — supporting students' academic freedom.

"Since that first faculty meeting, we have always been able to count on Mike to speak out for what's right. Mike has always been an advocate for the faculty," Tiede said, adding Young has been described as "the conscience of the faculty."

Young said he was completely surprised at the honor and deeply touched by Tiede's remarks in presenting it.

"I am deeply, profoundly grateful for this award," Young said. "Next to teaching, championing faculty governance has always been a paramount concern for me. I think it is entirely fitting that our AAUP chapter has created this award as a tribute to Jim Dougan, and I am honored to be its first recipient."

Tiede noted that Young was instrumental in ensuring faculty a place at the table in the past two presidential search committees. Among his many other contributions, he has served on the Faculty Handbook Review Task Force, the Health Care Advocacy Committee, and the Strategic Planning and Budgeting Committee.

"I and many other faculty learned what faculty advocacy is by observing the example Mike has set and still sets every day," Tiede said.

Contact: Ann Aubry, (309) 556-3181