

Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Fall 10-22-2012

Mortar Board Chapter Receives Silver Torch Award

Shea Felde '14 Illinois Wesleyan University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

Recommended Citation

Felde '14, Shea, "Mortar Board Chapter Receives Silver Torch Award" (2012). *News and Events*. 2009.

https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/2009

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

Mortar Board Chapter Receives Silver Torch Award

Oct. 22, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, III.— The EGAS chapter at Illinois Wesleyan University was among the outstanding Mortar Board chapters to be recognized at the 2012 Mortar Board National Conference, held in Chicago in late July.

The EGAS chapter received the Silver Torch Award. This honor is presented to chapters executing timeliness and dedication while exemplifying the ideals of scholarship, leadership and service. Silver Torch Award recipients are selected based on a review of national records, requiring that the chapter meet all of the national minimum standards and deadlines.

Chapter president Zoe Gross and Sarah Carlson, vice president of membership, were present to accept the chapter's award.

Mortar Board is the premier national honor society recognizing college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Since its founding in 1918, the Society has grown from four to 229 chartered collegiate chapters with more than a quarter-million members across the nation. The EGAS chapter at Illinois Wesleyan University was chartered in 2009.

The following 14 seniors, graduating in the spring of 2013, are the current members of the IWU Mortar Board: Zoe Gross (political science major), Joe Daniels (vice president of IWU Mortar Board and environmental studies major), Sarah Carlson (anthropology major), Kelly Brady (psychology and sociology double major), Emma Florio (history major), Rachel Casali (sociology and environmental studies double major), Tim Hegwood (accounting major), Bridget Lam (business administration major), Ted Delicath (political science major), Ross Munsterman (psychology and philosophy double major), Meghan Dinkle (psychology major), Emily Oprins (English writing major), Olivia Dunham (art major) and Katelyn Scott (anthropology major).

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. Some notable Mortar Board members include pioneering engineer Lillian Gilbreth, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Emmy-winning actor Rue McClanahan, astronauts Judith Resnik and Janice Voss, adventurer Aron Ralston and lifestyle expert Bruce Littlefield.

For more information, contact Jenni Szolwinski at jszolwinski@mortarboard.org or (513) 907-7485, or Sherry Wallace at swallace@iwu.edu.

Contact: Shea Felde, '14, (309) 556-3181 univcomm@iwu.edu