

Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Spring 3-8-2016

Student Newspaper Wins Two Editorial Awards

Kim Hill Illinois Wesleyan University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

Recommended Citation

Hill, Kim, "Student Newspaper Wins Two Editorial Awards" (2016). *News and Events*. 2835. https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/2835

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/ or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

Student Newspaper Wins Two Editorial Awards

March 8, 2016

BLOOMINGTON, III.— The Argus, Illinois Wesleyan's student newspaper, received two awards for editorials at the recent Illinois College Press Association Convention in Chicago.

The Argus editorial board received a first place award and an honorable mention in the Editorial category for non-daily papers in the small school division (enrollment under 4,000). Approximately 38 schools contributed 1,260 entries to this year's award competition. Argus staff members accepting the award were Jeff Neukom '17, editor-in-chief; Giovanni Solano '18, managing editor; Rosa Zapata '18, news editor; and Ana Erickson '18, features editor.

The Argus, which has been published weekly since 1894, is one of the longest continually published college newspapers in the United States. James Plath, R. Forrest Colwell Endowed Chair and Professor of English, serves as faculty advisor.



Argus staffers (from left) Ana Erickson '18, Giovanni Solano '18, Jeff Neukom '17 and Rosa Zapata '18 with their awards at the Illinois College Press Association Convention.

