

Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Summer 6-8-2006

Risk Management Scholarships Awarded for Outstanding IWU Students

Leslie Boelter Illinois Wesleyan University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

Recommended Citation

Boelter, Leslie, "Risk Management Scholarships Awarded for Outstanding IWU Students" (2006). *News and Events*. 3363.

https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/3363

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

Risk Management Scholarships Awarded for Outstanding IWU Students June 8, 2006

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. - Illinois Wesleyan University's Risk Management Program is honored to have four of its students receive scholarships from several different programs and companies.

The students are Dea Foster, a senior mathematics and risk management double major; Brandin Heidbreder, a senior economics and risk management double major; Andrew Heikes, a 2006 graduate with a major in both mathematics and risk management; and Jenise Klein, a 2006 graduate with a major in risk management. The students were awarded a variety of different scholarships for their work. Risk management is a professional discipline that protects physical, financial and human resources.

Foster, from Rolling Meadows, Ill., received a Central Illinois CPCU Society Scholarship, a Spencer Educational Foundation-Spencer Scholar scholarship, an Angus Robinson Memorial Foundation Scholarship, and an Anita Benedetti Student Involvement Scholarship. The Central Illinois CPCU Society Scholarship recognizes seniors striving for a degree in Insurance or Risk Management. Factors considered in the decision were academic performance, organizational involvement, leadership potential, and interest in insurance. The Spencer Education Foundation-Spencer Scholar Scholarship, which includes \$5,000 in scholarship money, recognizes full-time undergraduate juniors and seniors as well as masters degree prospects with a major or minor in risk management. Elements considered are the students' GPA, relevant work experience, leadership skills, and academic and employer recommendations. The Angus Robinson Memorial Foundation Scholarship includes a \$5,000 package for undergraduate students with a financial need and pursuing a risk management degree. The Anita Benedetti Student Involvement Scholarship funds remarkable risk management students at the annual Risk and Insurance Management Society (RIMS) Conference and Exhibition.

Heidbreder, from Lincoln, Ill., received a Mid-Illinois RIMS Scholarship, which is a \$500 award given to a student majoring in risk management.

Heikes, from Shawano, Wis., received a D.W. Simpson & Company Actuarial Science Scholarship and a National Association of Insurance Women Scholarship. The D.W. Simpson & Company Actuarial Science Scholarship is a \$1,000 award given to senior-year undergraduate students majoring in actuarial science. They must have a GPA of 3.2 or higher in their major and an overall GPA of 3.0. The National Association of Insurance Woman Scholarship is given to second year or higher students with a major or minor in insurance and/or risk management and/or actuarial science. Students must have a minimum 3.0 GPA and have completed two insurance, risk management, or actuarial courses.

Klein, of Hampshire, Ill., was awarded the Anita Benedetti Student Involvement Scholarship, which finances student attendance at the annual RIMS Conference and Exhibition.