

Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Spring 4-25-2007

Student Senate Announces Annual Student, Professor Awards

Rebecca Welzenbach *Illinois Wesleyan University*

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

Recommended Citation

Welzenbach, Rebecca, "Student Senate Announces Annual Student, Professor Awards" (2007). *News and Events*. 3229.

https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/3229

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

Student Senate Announces Annual Student, Professor Awards April 25, 2007

BLOOMINGTON, III. – Illinois Wesleyan University's Student Senate recently announced the winners of its three annual awards: Senator of the Year, Professor of the Year, and the Minor Myers, jr. Student Senate Scholarship, which is named after the University's late former president.

Colin Zepeda, a senior biology major from Winfield, Ill., was selected by his fellow senators as Senator of the Year. The senate representative for the Council on Latin American Student Enrichment (CLASE), Zepeda has been actively involved with the organization for four years, and has served on a number of important committees, including the Financial Advisory Board, the Strategic Planning Committee, the Resolutions Committee and the Constitutional Revisions Committee.

Professor of the Year for 2007 is Greg Shaw, associate professor of political science. Nominated along with four of his colleagues by the senate, Shaw was elected by IWU students, who had the opportunity to cast their votes online over the course of three days. The other nominees were: Dave Bollivar, associate professor of biology; Mark Criley, visiting instructor of philosophy; Paul Bushnell, professor of history and Tian-Xo He, professor of mathematics.

Marie Huey, a first-year English writing major, was chosen from among 23 applicants as this year's recipient of the Minor Myers, jr. scholarship. The Apple Valley, Minn., native was selected by a committee of student senators based on her resume and answers to three essay questions, which demonstrated her commitment to IWU and the values of a liberal arts education. The award is for \$525 and application is open to any student with a GPA of at least 3.0 who will be attending IWU in the following academic year.

Contact: Rebecca Welzenbach, (309) 556-3181