

Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Spring 5-22-2008

Illinois Wesleyan Announces New Board Members

Sherry Wallace *Illinois Wesleyan University*

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

Recommended Citation

Wallace, Sherry, "Illinois Wesleyan Announces New Board Members" (2008). *News and Events*. 4635.

https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/4635

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

© Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

Illinois Wesleyan University

NEWS RELEASE

Illinois Wesleyan University News Service, P.O. Box 2900, Bloomington, IL 61702-2900

(309) 556-3181 univcomm@titan.iwu.edu www.iwu.edu/~iwunews

May 22, 2008

Illinois Wesleyan Announces New Board Members

Contact: Sherry Wallace, (309) 556-3181

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – The Illinois Wesleyan University Board of Trustees elected two new trustees for three-year terms at its May 12-13 meeting on campus. Dale H. Spiess, class of '66 and, from the IWU Alumni Association, John S. Esch, class of '79.

Spiess had a 42-year career in the chemicals industry, with a focus on sales and marketing, business development and management. After his graduation with a biology degree from Illinois Wesleyan, he joined Uniroyal Chemical and later worked for ARCO and Millennium Chemical.

In 1998, Spiess joined NOVA Chemical Corporation and was named Senior Vice President and President- Olefins/Polyolefins Division in 2001. He retired in 2006. For almost eight years, Spiess and his wife Carol, class of '66, were involved in the IWU alumni class agent program, and two of their children attended the University.

Since 1987, Esch has been a general and vascular surgeon in Bloomington/Normal. He received his bachelor's degree in biology from Illinois Wesleyan and his doctor of medicine degree from Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in 1982. Throughout his career his positions have included chief of staff and chief of surgery at OSF St. Joseph Medical center and chief of surgery at BroMenn Healthcare in Normal. Esch and his wife Cindy have chaired the McLean County Leadership Giving Council since 2002 and served as volunteers for previous campaigns and phonathons. Two of their sons currently attend the University, and another son is a 2007 alum.

In other trustees elections, Board officers re-elected for 2008-2009 are: president, George A. Vinyard, class of '71, of Chicago; first vice president, Gilbert L. Dorsey, class of '62, of Bloomington; second vice president, Herbert A. Getz, class of '77, of Naperville, Ill.; secretary, Susan D. Waring of Bloomington, and treasurer, Robert E. Field, class of '67 of Chicago.

The Board granted emeritus status to Roger S. Joslin, who served as a trustee for nine years. Joslin, who joined State Farm in 1964, serves as vice chairman of State Farm Mutual in Bloomington. He was appointed to the position in 1998. He began his career at State Farm as an assistant vice president, with later appointments as vice president in the president's office and treasurer. In 1987, he became senior vice president of State Farm Mutual and was elected chairman of State Farm Fire and Casualty. He and his wife Stephanie reside in Bloomington.

In addition, trustees re-elected for a three-year term at this meeting are: Richard D. Ames of Cleveland, Ohio; Patricia M. Armstrong, class of '70, of San Francisco; Phyllis Barker, class of '73, of Chicago; Thomas L. Brown, class of '79, of Chicago; Robert E. Field, class of '67, of Chicago; Dr. David Gaffron, of Bloomington; Dr. Thomas C. McKinney, Jr., class of '76, of Chesterfield, Mo.; Dr. Ronald L. Ruecker, class of '66, of Decatur; James A. Shirk, of Bloomington; Carlina Tapia-Ruano, class of '77, of Chicago, and Susan D. Waring, of Bloomington.

The Board of Trustees at Illinois Wesleyan consists of 41 members, four honorary members and 27 emeritus trustees.