

## Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Fall 11-12-2008

# Of Thee I Sing Celebrates 60 Years of Musicals at Illinois Wesleyan

Nicole Travis

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

#### **Recommended Citation**

Travis, Nicole, "Of Thee I Sing Celebrates 60 Years of Musicals at Illinois Wesleyan" (2008). *News and Events.* 4697.

https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/4697

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

© Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

### Illinois Wesleyan University

**NEWS RELEASE** 

Illinois Wesleyan University News Service, P.O. Box 2900, Bloomington, IL 61702-2900

(309) 556-3181 univcomm@titan.iwu.edu www.iwu.edu/~iwunews

November 12, 2008

**Contact:** Nicole Travis '11, (309) 556-3181

#### Of Thee I Sing Celebrates 60 Years of Musicals at Illinois Wesleyan

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Illinois Wesleyan University's School of Theatre Arts will present the satirical musical *Of Thee I Sing* at 8 p.m. from Tuesday, Nov. 18 through Saturday, Nov. 22 and 2 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 23 in the McPherson Theatre (2 Ames Plaza East, Bloomington). This year's production commemorates both the 60th anniversary of musicals at Illinois Wesleyan and the first *Of Thee I Sing* performance in 1948.

Set during an election year in the 1930s, *Of Thee I Sing* tells the story of John P. Wintergreen, a bachelor campaigning to become United States president. To market his slogan, "Let's Put Love in the White House," Wintergreen sponsors a beauty contest for women across the country. However, he strays from his promise to marry the winner when he falls for Mary Turner, a pageant secretary.

George and Ira Gershwin's *Of Thee I Sing* won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama in 1932. The musical was also made into a book, written by George S. Kaufman and Morrie Ryskind.

Tickets are currently on sale. The Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday performances are \$10, and the Friday and Saturday performances are \$12. All shows are \$1 for students with a valid I.D. Senior citizens 65 and older will receive a \$1 discount on ticket price. To reserve tickets or for additional information, contact the McPherson Theatre box office at (309) 556-3232.

Cast Members: Alex Pagels (Louis Lippman), Ryan Simpson (Francis X Gilhooley), Kyle Blair (Matthew Fulton), Russell Matthews (Senator Robert E. Lyons), Vince Gargaro (Senator Carver Jones), David Ruben (Alexander Throttlebottom), Chris Feiereisen (John P. Wintergreen), Seth Reid (Jam Jenkins), Allie Beckman (Diana Devereaux), Maia Diaz (Mary Turner), Katie Whalley (Miss Benson), Kevin Schuering (the Chief Justice), Evan Kasprzak (the French Ambassador).

Ensemble: Amanda Hentsch, Kristen Evensen, Sarah Bockel, Katelyn Schmidt, Kelsey Phillips, Marlee Turim, Lauren Romano, Britnee Ruscitti, Julie Tucker, Britta Whittenberg, Steve Aron,

NOTE TO MEDIA: To receive this release electronically, e-mail univcomm@titan.iwu.edu or visit www.iwu.edu/~iwunews

Neil Statman, Nicholas Reinhart, Andrew Temkin, Todd Salerno, Alejandro Postigo, Ryan Tipton, Nick Bursoni, Kevin Schuering, Evan Kasprzak.

**Production Team:** Scott Susong (Director), Erin Daly (Assistant Director), Sandy DeAthos (Musical Director), Sherri Marley (Choreographer), Marcia McDonald (Costume Designer), Gary Echelmeyer (Lighting Designer), Adam Groeniger (Assistant Lighting Designer), Curt Trout (Scenic Designer), Kyle Urquhart (Assistant Scenic Designer), Steve Gonabe (Sound Designer), Carol Hamre (Properties Master), Armie Thompson (Technical Director), Julie Allen (Assistant Technical Director), Kelly Rice (Stage Manager).