

Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Winter 1-5-2001

Lexington Top Seed for 91st McLean County Tournament

Stew Salowitz Illinois Wesleyan University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

Recommended Citation

Salowitz, Stew, "Lexington Top Seed for 91st McLean County Tournament" (2001). *News and Events*. 5236.

https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/5236

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/ or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

Illinois Wesleyan University News Service, P.O. Box 2900, Bloomington, IL 61702-2900

(309) 556-3181

5 January 2001

CONTACT: Stew Salowitz, (309) 556-3206

Lexington Top Seed for 91st McLean County Tournament

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. — Defending champion Lexington, with a record of 6-2 through games of Jan. 5, has been seeded No. 1 for the 91st McLean County Boys' Basketball Tournament.

The Heyworth Hornets (6-4) are seeded second and the Tri-Valley Vikings, with a 4-5 record, are seeded third in the eight-team tourney, which will be staged Jan. 15-16 and 18-20 for the seventh consecutive year at Illinois Wesleyan University's Shirk Center.

Lexington dropped Tri-Valley, 56-48, to claim last year's title and stop a string of two straight championships by Tri-Valley.

With the 2000 championship, Lexington tied Gridley for the most McLean County Tournament titles with 13.

Seeded in order behind the top three, with records through Jan. 5, were LeRoy (4-5), Ridgeview (3-6), Blue Ridge (3-5), Chenoa (2-8), and Gridley (1-8).

The tourney will open with Lexington facing Chenoa at 6:15 p.m. Monday, Jan. 15, followed by LeRoy vs. Ridgeview. Heyworth vs. Chenoa opens the second night of play at 6:15 Tuesday, Jan. 16, followed by Tri-Valley against Blue Ridge.

The consolation semifinals will be on Jan. 18 with the championship semifinals set for Jan. 19. The boys' consolation championship game will be played at Lexington High School at 8 p.m. on Fri., Jan. 19.

All weeknight sessions will consist of two games with a different format used for the final day of play. The girls' tournament third place game will be at 9:15 a.m., followed by the boys' tournament third place game. The Illinois Wesleyan women's team takes over the Shirk Center for a 2 p.m. league game against Millikin.

The girls' tourney title game will open the final session Saturday at 6:15 p.m. with the boys' tournament championship at 8 p.m.

Ticket prices at the Shirk Center are \$4 for adults and \$2 for students.

2001 McLEAN COUNTY BOYS BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT SCHEDULE (all at Shirk Center unless otherwise noted)

MONDAY, JANUARY 15

Game 1, 6:15 p.m.— Lexington (1st seed) vs. Gridley (8th) Game 2, 8 p.m.— LeRoy (4th seed) vs. Ridgeview (5th)

TUESDAY, JANUARY 16

Game 3, 6:15 p.m.— Heyworth (2nd) vs. Chenoa (7th) Game 4, 8 p.m.— Tri-Valley (3rd) vs. Blue Ridge (6th)

THURSDAY, JANUARY 18

Game 5, 6:15 p.m.— Loser game 1 vs. Loser game 2 Game 6, 8 p.m.— Loser game 3 vs. Loser game 4

FRIDAY, JANUARY 19

Game 7, 6:15 p.m.— Winner game 1 vs. Winner game 2 Game 8, 8 p.m.— Winner game 3 vs. Winner game 4 **CONSOLATION CHAMPIONSHIP** (Winner 5 vs. Winner 6) - 8 p.m. at Lexington High School

SATURDAY, JANUARY 20

9:15 a.m. — Girls' tournament third-place game

Game 10, 11 a.m.— Loser game 7 vs. Loser game 8 (Third place)

6:15 p.m. — Girls' tournament championship game

Game 11, 8 p.m.— Winner game 7 vs. Winner game 8 (Championship)

		,		
	PAST CHAMPIONS	1933- no tournament	1956- Octavia	1979- Chenoa
	1911- Lexington	1934- Stanford	1957- Octavia	1980- Gridley
	1912- Lexington	1935- Lexington	1958- Lexington	1981- Lexington
	1913- U High	1936- Saybrook	1959- Octavia	1982- Gridley
e.	1914- Bellflower	1937- Saybrook	1960- Heyworth	1983- Saybrook-Arrowsmith
	1915- Saybrook	1938- Cropsey	1961- Heyworth	1984- Gridley
	1916- U High	1939- Chenoa	1962- Octavia	1985- Heyworth
	1917- U High	1940- Stanford	1963- Octavia	1986- Gridley
	1918- Lexington	1941- McLean	1964- Lexington	1987- Octavia
	1919- Normal	1942- Stanford	1965- Bellflower	1988- Blue Ridge
	1920- Stanford	1943- LeRoy	1966- Octavia	1989- Octavia
	1921- Stanford	1944- Gridley	1967- Octavia	1990- Ridgeview
	1922- Bloomington	1945- LeRoy	1968- Octavia	1991- Ridgeview
	1923- Downs	1946- Gridley	1969- Chenoa	1992- Gridley
	1924- Bloomington	1947- Gridley	1970- Octavia	1993- Gridley
	1925- U High	1948- Chenoa	1971- Hopedale	1994- Ridgeview
	1926- Normal	1949- Saybrook	1972- Lexington	1995- LeRoy
	1927- U High	1950- Lexington	1973- Octavia	1996- Tri-Valley
	1928- U High	1951- Chenoa	1974- Lexington	1997- Ridgeview
	1929- U High	1952- Lexington	1975- Gridley	1998 - Tri-Valley
	1930- Downs	1953- Gridley	1976- Gridley	1999 - Tri-Valley
	1931- Heyworth	1954- Lexington	1977- Gridley	2000 - Lexington
	1932- Carlock	1955- Chenoa	1978- Saybrook-Arrowsmith	