

# Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Spring 3-25-2002

### Jeanne Johnson Named Winner of Max L. Starkey Service Award

Sherry Wallace *Illinois Wesleyan University* 

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

#### **Recommended Citation**

Wallace, Sherry, "Jeanne Johnson Named Winner of Max L. Starkey Service Award" (2002). *News and Events*. 5249.

https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/5249

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

## Illinois Wesleyan University

**NEWS RELEASE** 

Illinois Wesleyan University News Service, P.O. Box 2900, Bloomington, IL 61702-2900

(309) 556-3181 univcomm@titan.iwu.edu www.iwu.edu/~iwunews

MARCH 25, 2002

CONTACT: Sherry Wallace or Jeff Hanna, (309) 556-3181

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. — Jeanne Johnson, director of administrative systems in Illinois Wesleyan University's information technology department, was named the second winner of the Max L. Starkey Service Award during the university's 11th annual recognition banquet Tuesday night (3/26) at the Holiday Inn in Normal.

The banquet recognized members of the university community for their work throughout the year and included a special tribute to employees who celebrated milestone anniversaries in five-year increments. In addition, two retiring members of the faculty of the School of Theatre Arts, John Ficca and Jared Brown, were honored.

The Starkey award was established in 2001 and is named in honor of the late Max Starkey, IWU class of 1957 and university comptroller from 1957-1996. It is presented to a member of the administrative, technical, support, security or physical plant staffs nominated by his or her peers for extraordinary service.

Johnson celebrated the 35th anniversary of her work at the university and was cited for her countless hours of work behind the scenes throughout her career.

In the meantime, a 40th anniversary award was presented to Lynn Nichelson who has directed IWU's Office of Financial Aid since 1962.

Other honorees were:

35 years: Susan Brandon (School of Music); Jeanne Johnson (Information Technology); Sammy Scifres (School of Music)

30 years: Dolores Helm (Arnold Health Service); Pamela Muirhead (English Department); Kathy Thilmany (Publications, Printing and Mailing Services); Sharlyn Wallace (University Communications)

25 years: Susan Anderson-Freed (Mathematics and Computer Science Department); Margaret Chapman (Economics Department); Darcy L. Greder (Office of the Associate Dean of Students); Lawrence Stout (Mathematics and Computer Science Department); George Wainwright (Physical Plant)

20 years: David J. King (Physical Plant); Robert Murray (Admissions Office); William West (School of Music)

15 years: Mary Jane Baines (Development Office); Donna Baird (Physical Plant); Patricia Berry (Memorial Student Center); Lawrence G. Claycomb (Physical Plant); Norman Eash (Physical Education Department); Frederick Hoyt (Business Administration Department); Vadim Mazo (School of Music); Mary Beth Phillips (Office of the Vice President for Business and Finance); Kathryn Scherck (School of Nursing); Terry Tanner (Physical Plant); Mary Christine Wilson (Office of the Vice President for University Advancement)

#### MORE

10 years: Tony Bankston (Admissions Office); Joseph Baptiste (Physical Plant); Maria J. Barnes (Physical Plant); Shela Bondurant-Koehler (School of Music); Mark Butler (Physical Plant); Carmela Ferradans (Hispanic Studies Department); Jeffery A. Frick (Chemistry Department); R. Given Harper (Biology Department); Brian A. Hatcher (Religion Department); Agnes Huonker (Admissions Office); Georganne Rundblad (Sociology and Anthropology Department); April Schultz (History Department); Gary Schwartz (Publications, Printing and Mailing Services); Johnna K. Shapiro (Psychology Department); James Simeone (Political Science Department); Ralph Somlar (Physical Plant); Susan E. Stroyan (The Ames Library); Michael Wagner (Physical Education Department)

5 years: Steven R. Carter (Physical Plant); April DeConick (Religion Department); Dennis T. DeLong (Physical Plant); Ana Floriani (Educational Studies Department); Marie L. Giusti (Human Resources Office); Amy Hill (International Office); Cynthia Honegger (Biology/Chemistry Department); Bruce W. Johnson (Physical Plant); Sandra Lindberg (School of Theatre Arts); Kerri Lynn McKeown (Information Technology); Tim McKeown (Information Technology); Tim A. Obermiller (University Communications); Jose G. Rodriguez (Physical Plant); Rebecca A. Roesner (Chemistry Department); Chris Rutledge (Information Technology); Christopher Schumacher (Physical Education Department); Susan Swanlund (School of Nursing); David E. Towers (Physical Plant); Constance Wells (School of Art).