

# Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Summer 7-12-1993

### For Immediate Release

Bob Aaron *Illinois Wesleyan University* 

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

#### **Recommended Citation**

Aaron, Bob, "For Immediate Release" (1993). *News and Events*. 6122. https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/6122

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

© Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

## Illinois Wesleyan University

**NEWS RELEASE** 

Illinois Wesleyan University News Service, P.O. Box 2900, Bloomington, IL 61702-2900

(309) 556-3181

July 12, 1993

Contact: Bob Aaron, 309/556-3181

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.--Illinois Wesleyan University will be one of 50 sites on a global television hookup July 15, which will be used to announce the 1993 winner of the \$100,000 Africa Prize for Leadership in trying to end hunger across a continent where an estimated 300 million people are living in poverty.

The telecast, originating from Ouagadougou, the capital of Burkina Faso, will be hosted by Charlayne Hunter-Gault, a correspondent for public television's "MacNeil/Lehrer News Hour" and will be attended by many heads of state, diplomats, and other dignitaries.

The public is invited to view the announcement of the Africa Prize winner on July 15 from 6-8:30 p.m. in the Davidson Room of IWU's Memorial Student Center, 104 E. University, Bloomington. The event, hosted by IWU President Minor Myers, jr., will include television facilities to watch the telecast, readings of traditional African poetry, a performance by the United Community Gospel Singers of Bloomington-Normal, and a buffet-style meal. While there is no charge for the meal, donations to the Hunger Project would be appreciated.

"This is the third consecutive year that Illinois Wesleyan has been a site for the announcement of the Africa Prize," said Joy Carew, IWU's director of Minority Services. "The Africa Prize honors scientists, agriculturists, public servants, and others who have shown courage and wisdom-- sometimes at great personal sacrifice--in grappling with the great economic, social, and political challenges facing the African continent. All of the past winners share one common commitment--a commitment to end hunger in Africa on a sustainable basis."

The event is sponsored by the Hunger Project of Bloomington-Normal, which was founded in 1990 to raise public awareness about issues surrounding worldwide hunger. Joan Holmes is executive director of the Hunger Project locally. The Bloomington-Normal affiliate is part of the worldwide Hunger Project, which has grown to 6.2 million members in 32 countries since it was founded in 1979. The Hunger Project, a non-profit group with a secretariat based in New York, is committed to achieving the sustainable end of hunger by 2000.

Among other local co-sponsors of the event are IWU's Office of Minority Services, the African Club of Bloomington-Normal, and State Farm Insurance.

The Africa Prize announcement will be broadcast on a taped-delay basis. The actual announcement will be made in Africa at 11 a.m. CDT, July 15.

The recipient of the Africa Prize will be selected by an international jury of agricultural scientists, diplomats, and international public servants chaired by Chester A. Crocker, former

U.S. assistant secretary of state for African affairs and a professor of international affairs at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.

Among past recipients of the Africa Prize are four former and present heads of state and presidents of African nations: Gen. Olusegun Obasanjo (1990), former head of state of Nigeria and founder and chair of the Africa Leadership Forum; Quett K.J. Masire (1989), president of Botswana; Robert G. Mugabe (1988), president of Zimbabwe; and Abdou Diouf (1987), president of Senegal.

Other winners of the Africa Prize include Maryam Ibrahim Babangida (1991), First Lady of Nigeria and founder of the Better Life Program; Wangari Muta Maathai (1991), a professor and founder of the Green Belt Movement, a program combining community development with environmental protection; Esther Ocloo (1990), managing director of Nkulenu Industries, Ltd., in Ghana and founder and first board chair of Women's World Banking (she was the first woman to win the Africa Prize); Bernard Lédéa Ouedraogo (1989), president and founder of the Naam movement, a grass-roots effort that has spurred self-reliance among small-scale farmers, and general secretary and co-founder of the International Six-S Association; and Thomas R. Odhiambo, a professor and director of the International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology in Nairobi, Kenya, and founding president of the African Academy of Sciences.

Winners of the Africa Prize receive the \$100,000 cash award and a sculpture by the international award-winning artist Takenobu Igarashi.

A key measure of the prestige and importance of the Africa Prize, Carew points out, is that over the years it has attracted many international dignitaries to serve as jury chairs, honorary committee chairs, and as members of the international jury. Among those individuals are Robert S. McNamara, former president of the World Bank and former U.S. Defense Secretary; Norman Borlaug, the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize winner; A.W. Clausen, former president of the World Bank and a top official of the Bank of America; Nafis Sadik, under secretary general of the United Nations; and Salim Ahmed Salim, secretary general of the Organization of African Unity and former prime minister of Tanzania.

The Africa Prize is privately funded through a group of sponsors including AT&T, Xerox Foundation, Coca-Cola Co., Comdisco, Inc., Gap International, BankAmerica Foundation, the World Bank, and others.

Editor's Note: For further information, contact: Joy Carew, IWU director of minority services, 309/556-3412 or the Hunger Project of Bloomington-Normal, 309/829-0185.