

# Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Spring 3-11-1998

## **IWU English Department Announces Winners of Poetry Contest**

Teri Lahmon
Illinois Wesleyan University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

#### **Recommended Citation**

Lahmon, Teri, "IWU English Department Announces Winners of Poetry Contest" (1998). *News and Events*. 6954.

https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/6954

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

© Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

# Illinois Wesleyan University

**NEWS RELEASE** 

Illinois Wesleyan University News Service, P.O. Box 2900, Bloomington, IL 61702-2900

(309) 556-3181

March 11, 1998

Contact: Teri Lahmon, 309/556-3182

### **IWU English Department Announces Winners of Poetry Contest**

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— The Illinois Wesleyan University English Department recently announced Isaac Spear '98 as winner of The University and College Poetry Prize.

The \$100 prize, presented annually by The Academy of American Poets (AAP), was awarded to Spear for his four poem portfolio. Certificates of Honorable Mention were awarded to Hope Hoffman and Lisa Southworth, members of the class of 1998.

The awards will be officially announced at the 1998 Honors Day Convocation, April 15th at 11:00 a.m. in Westbrook Auditorium, Presser Hall.

The contest is publicised to the university each fall by the English Department. Contestants are required to submit a portfolio including two to six original works of poetry. Entries are evaluated by members of the IWU faculty; this year's faculty judges were Wes Chapman, associate professor of English, James McGowan, professor of English, and Sandra Steingraber, writer-in-residence and visiting professor of English.

The University and College Poetry Prize Program was founded in 1955 and now includes 160 prizes across the country. Each year the AAP provides a \$100 prize to each college or university in the program. This year, there were 17 contestants vying for the Illinois Wesleyan prize. The Academy of American Poets, the largest organization in the country dedicated specifically to the art of poetry, was founded in 1934. It supports American poets at all stages of their careers and fosters the appreciation of contemporary poetry.