

Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

News and Events

Office of Communications

Spring 3-29-1999

## IWU's Coon Second Team All-American

Stew Salowitz Illinois Wesleyan University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news

### **Recommended Citation**

Salowitz, Stew, "IWU's Coon Second Team All-American" (1999). *News and Events*. 7077. https://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/news/7077

This Article is protected by copyright and/or related rights. It has been brought to you by Digital Commons @ IWU with permission from the rights-holder(s). You are free to use this material in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s) directly, unless additional rights are indicated by a Creative Commons license in the record and/ or on the work itself. This material has been accepted for inclusion by faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

Illinois Wesleyan University News Service, P.O. Box 2900, Bloomington, IL 61702-2900

29 March 1999

CONTACT: Stew Salowitz, 309-556-3206

SPORTS RELEASE

# **IWU's Coon Second Team All-American**

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. -- Illinois Wesleyan University's Korey Coon has been named to the second team of the Division III All-American squad selected by Chuck Mistovich of *Basketball Times* magazine.

The 6-foot junior guard from **East Peoria High School** was also a second team All-American on the National Association of Basketball Coaches Division III All-American squad, announced earlier this month. He was an honorable mention NABC All-American choice as a sophomore.

Coon is one of only seven Titans to earn the *Basketball Times* honor and the first IWU guard to be named to a squad. Forward Brent Niebrugge was a second team choice last season and forward Bryan Crabtree was on the first team and was "Player of the Year" in 1997. Center-forward Chris Simich was a first team choice in 1996 and on the third team in 1995. Forward-center Jeff Kuehl was on the first team in 1989 and earned second team honors in 1990, while two other IWU centers, David Caldwell (1991) and Bill Braksick (1988), earned third team All-America status in *Basketball Times*.

Coon was the co-winner of this year's College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin "Fred Young Most Outstanding Player" award and was a first team all-CCIW selection for the second straight season. His 512 points this year is 18<sup>th</sup> best in a season and his 74 3-point field goals is second in a single season at IWU. He scored in double figures in 25 of 26 games and led the Titans in scoring 14 times, including a career-high 38-points with a school record-tying eight 3-point field goals at Olivet Nazarene.

Coon, a first team all-Midwest Region selection for the second straight season, rose to No. 18 in career scoring at IWU with 1,232 points and has 292 made free throws, good for eighth in school annals. His 88.8 free throw percentage (292 of 329) is a school career record and he ranks second at IWU with 180 career 3-point field goals.

Coon was elected as the GTE College Division "Academic All-America of the Year" and was a first

team Academic All-America® choice after being on the second team as a sophomore.

Coon was also one of 10 finalists for the 1999 Jostens Trophy, recognizing the outstanding student-

athletes in Division III basketball. Hamilton College's 6-foot-6 forward Michael Schantz, a first team

NABC All-American, who led the Continentals to the final 16 of the 1999 NCAA tournament, won that

award. Schantz averaged 25.9 points and 12.6 rebounds per game and is one of two Division III players

who ranks in the top 10 nationally in both scoring (sixth) and rebounding (second).

### **1999 BASKETBALL TIMES DIVISION III ALL-AMERICANS**

### First Team:

Merrill Brunson, Wisconsin-Platteville, junior, guard Jeff Clement, Grinnell, senior, guard Andy Panko, Lebanon Valley, senior, forward Devean George, Augsburg, senior, forward Dave Jannuzzi, Wilkes, junior, guard

### Second Team:

Korey Coon, Illinois Wesleyan, junior, guard T.J. Grimes, Hampden-Sydney, junior, forward Carl Howell, St. Joseph's (Maine), senior, forward Eric Joldersma, Bethel, senior, forward Michael Schantz, Hamilton, senior, forward

### **Third Team:**

Adam DeChristopher, Plymouth State, senior, guard Darrell Lewis, Lincoln (Pa.), senior, forward Kevin Sensabaugh, Ohio Northern, senior, guard Jason Nickerson, Virginia Wesleyan, senior, forward Luke Schmidt, Gustavus Adolphus, senior, center

Player of the Year: Andy Panko, Lebanon Valley Coach of the Year: Glenn Miller, Connecticut