The Criteria for Accreditation are organized under five major headings. Each Criterion has three elements: Criterion Statement, Core Components, and Examples of Evidence. The Criteria Statements define necessary attributes of an organization accredited by the Commission. An organization must be judged to have met each of the Criteria to merit accreditation. An organization addresses each Core Component as it presents reasonable and representative evidence of meeting a Criterion. The Examples of Evidence illustrate the types of evidence an organization might present in addressing a Core Component. The Criteria are intentionally general so that accreditation decisions focus on the particulars of each organization, rather than on trying to make it fit a pre-established mold. The widely different purposes and scopes of colleges and universities demand criteria that are broad enough to encompass diversity and support innovation, but clear enough to ensure acceptable quality. The Criteria Statements and Core Components are presented here.

Browse the Criteria for Accreditation Collections:

Criterion One: Mission and Integrity

Criterion Two: Preparing for the Future

Criterion Three: Student Learning & Effective Teaching

Criterion Four: Acquisition, Discovery, and Application of Knowledge

Criterion Five: Engagement and Service