This lecture series was initiated in 1965 as a memorial to Adlai E. Stevenson, the political leader and Chief U.S. Delegate to the United Nations who was raised in Bloomington. It is co-hosted by Illinois Wesleyan and Illinois State University and the event's location alternates accordingly.

The board of the Stevenson Memorial Lecture Series, chaired by the presidents of Illinois State University and Illinois Wesleyan University, consists of 23 members who organize presentations designed to perpetuate the work of Stevenson by “promoting his ideals and furthering the cause of world peace and good will among peoples,” as established by the founding members in 1965.

A book with the text of the speeches (or, when text was unavailable, reprint of news coverage) was compiled by John K. Boaz: The Adlai E. Stevenson Memorial Lecture Series: the First Twenty-Five Years, 1966-1991 (University Press of America, 1995).


Lectures from 1993


Margaret Tutwiler, Margaret Tutwiler

Lectures from 1987


Jeane Kirkpatrick, Jeane Kirkpatrick

Lectures from 1982


Edmund Muskie, Edmund Muskie

Lectures from 1978


Fred Harvey Harrington, Fred Harvey Harrington

Lectures from 1976


James R. Schlesinger, James R. Schlesinger and WGLT

Lectures from 1971


John Fairbank, John Fairbank

Lectures from 1970


Barbara Ward, Barbara Ward

Lectures from 1969


Hubert H. Humphrey, Hubert H. Humphrey